Succulent Saturday: Muffins

Henceforth, Saturdays will be known as Succulent Saturday (thanks to @wbdnewton for the name suggestion) wherein I post some of my favorite recipes. They may or may not be familiar to you, but all are Zarf tested and approved.

This recipe is certainly not one that our family lays claim to, but we’ve made it for as far back as I can remember. I have very fond memories of burning my fingers as a kid trying to get the muffins out of the tins and buttered as quickly as possible. This was a necessary hazard as my dad and I always fought over them and the quicker you were, the more you got to eat.

I try and keep a batch of these in the fridge at all times. They are so simple to make and last almost as long as you’ll let ’em.

So without further ado, I give you a sinfully easy muffin recipe that is great for breakfast on its own or epically awesome with pea soup at dinner.

Six Week Muffins
15 ounce box Raisin Bran or bran flakes (plus a handful of extra raisins)
2 1/2-3 cups sugar
5 cups flour
5 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoon salt
1 cup vegetable oil
4 eggs
4 cups buttermilk

Combine the first five ingredients, mixing together until large lumps remain. Add oil, eggs and buttermilk. Stir together well but do not over mix.

Place in a sealable plastic container and refrigerate until ready to use. (Batter will keep for several, read six, weeks in refrigerator.)

When needed, scoop out the amount required and ladle batter into greased or sprayed muffin tins. Fill any unused muffin wells 1/4 of the way with water.
Bake at 375°F degrees for 20 minutes or until golden brown. (I cook them at 350°F in a toaster oven for about 12 minutes)

Makes four dozen or so muffins.

Enjoy!

P.S. As a matter of fact, I’m probably mixing up a batch as you read this.

This entry was posted in Succulent Saturday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Succulent Saturday: Muffins

  1. Yum! I’m totally stealing this recipe AND this idea. Look for something on my blog later.

  2. Pingback: Succulent Saturday « Oddly Said

  3. Oh hey! You didn’t tweet me to tell me you were actually doing this. Thanks for the hat tip!

Leave a Reply

